Government Engineer of The Year

Last Modified: December 3, 2021
by Dave

Current Recipient

  • Government Engineer of the Year, 2020

    Susan L. Everett, P.E.

    Washington State Department of Transportation

    Susan L. Everett, P.E., Washington State Department of Transportation, has been selected as the recipient of the 2020 Government Engineer of the Year Award in recognition of her exceptional career managing complex construction projects for the department.  Throughout her career, she has led efforts to improve the accountability, efficiency, and effectiveness of the engineering within the department and served as mentor for many of the department’s project engineers.

    Currently, she is the project manager for the SR 509 Completion Project that links SR 509 to Interstate 5, provides additional access to Sea-Tac airport, and improves transportation in South King County.  Immediately prior to that position, she served as the Engineering Manager for the Alaskan Way Viaduct Replacement project, supervising a team focused on design, construction, and safety of the SR 99 tunnel. This tunnel project pushed all known limits of engineering to become the largest soft-ground machine-bored road tunnel in the world.  She joined the project during its development phase and was instrumental in redesigning the alignment of the tunnel to improve sight distances for drivers.  A part of the project was the construction of the SR 99 off-ramp to South Dearborn Street.  This flexible steel and bendable concrete bridge was designed to move with a major earthquake and return to its original position and remain functional.

    She piloted the department’s Cost Estimating Validation Process which considers project risk in developing cost estimates.  She identified project risks and then developed cost estimates considering alternative risk impacts and risk probabilities. To improve the department’s value engineering (VE) process, she introduced the split VE process in which the VE team develops initial recommendations and then submits them to the design team for development of 3D modeling, cross sections, and quantities.     

    Continue reading →

Award Criteria

  • Has contributed significantly in the application of engineering principles in Local, State, or Federal  Government projects.
  • Has led in improving the application of technology for public benefit.
  • Has actively participated in improving the effectiveness of the engineering profession.

Past Recipients

  • 2019 – James P. Wilhoit, P. E., City of Renton
  • 2018 – Jeffery A. Lundt, P.E., Wastewater Treatment Division of the King County Department of Natural Resources and Parks
  • 2017 – Alan Murray, P.E., Snohomish County
  • 2016 – Richard Q. Gilmore, PE Silver Lake Water and Sewer District
  • 2015 – Cindy Hirsch, PE – Federal Aviation Administration
  • 2014 – Richard A. Sage, P.E., CCM, – Sound Transit
  • 2013 – David L. Dye, P.E. – HNTB Corporation
  • 2012 – James W. Miller, P.E. – City of Everett
  • 2011 – Michael Mucha, P.E. – City of Olympia
  • 2010 – Jerremy J. Barbera, P.E. – Port of Seattle
  • 2009 – Ronald H. Borowski – City of Seattle
  • 2008 – Linda E. De Bolt, P.E. – Seattle Public Utilities
  • 2006 – Jonathan Siu, PE – City of Seattle
  • 2005 – Randolph R. Sleight, P.E., P.L.S.
  • 2004 – John Hogan PE – City of Seattle
  • 2003 – Lloyd Warren PE – City of Bellevue
  • 2002 – Col. Ralph H. Graves Ph.D PE – U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
  • 2001 – Cap A. Pearson PE – City of Tacoma
  • 2000 – Thomas A. Kinsman PE – City of Seattle
  • 1999 – Capt. David J. Visneski PE – U. S. Coast Guard
  • 1996 – David A. Malsch PE – Washington State DOT
  • 1995 – Simon Yang PE-Army Corps of Engineers
  • 1994 – Louis J. Hoff PE-King County Roads & Engineers
  • 1993 – Larry E. Shannon PE-Army Corps of Engineers
  • 1992 – Stanley C. Stumbo PE-Washington State Ferries
  • 1991 – Vladimir Khazak-Metro
  • 1990 – Robert E. Bockstruck PE – Washington State DOT